CARNA awards for professor Sharon Moore and alumna Lorraine Way

Pin It

Each year, the College and Association of Registered Nurses of Alberta (CARNA) recognizes the finest achievements of its members with awards of nursing excellence, and this year CARNA is once again honouring members of the Athabasca University community with two of these awards.

At the May 8 gala for the 15th Annual CARNA Awards of Nursing Excellence, Dr. Sharon Moore (pictured above) will receive the CARNA Nursing Excellence in Education award, and Lorraine Way (Bachelor of General Studies, 1980) will receive the CARNA Lifetime Achievement award.

“It is a great honour to be recognized not only by my peers but also by my professional association,” says Moore, who’s been a professor at AU’s Centre for Nursing and Health Studies since 2003. “Ruthie Foster is one of my favourite folk singers, and I remember her one time saying, ‘To love what you do is a beautiful thing.’ I love what I do, and to be rewarded for doing what I love is icing on the cake.

“I truly believe that I stand among great educators in my faculty at AU,” Moore continues. “Many of my colleagues have served as mentors for me, and although I have been teaching for 34 years now, I still believe that we are all teachers and learners.”

Way studied with AU early in her career as a stepping stone to completing her nursing degree at the University of Alberta. Later, she worked closely with government leaders to shape the Health Professions Act. She’s been a nursing instructor at Red Deer College since 1988.

“I feel extremely proud and humble to be receiving this award,” says Way, adding that the award is as much for the exceptional people she’s had the privilege of working with over the years.

“We’re delighted that CARNA has chosen to recognize Sharon and Lorraine this year,” adds Dr. Margaret Edwards, acting dean of AU’s Faculty of Health Disciplines. “Their selection as winners speaks volumes about their impact on students, peers and the nursing profession itself.”

To learn more about why Dr. Sharon Moore and Lorraine Way are receiving these awards, visit CARNA’s Awards of Nursing Excellence recipient bios.

Attend the CARNA awards gala

The deadline to purchase tickets for the May 8 gala in Edmonton is Friday, May 2.

Meet last year’s AU winners

To meet last year’s CARNA winners with ties to AU, watch the acceptance speeches of Kathleen Soltys (BN, 1995; Master of Health Studies, 2001) and Frankie Wong (BN, 1993; Master of Health Studies, 2004).

Written with files from CARNA (used with permission).